Enjoying my coffee above Europe

What London, NY, Paris, Tokyo, Milan?!? Whaaaaaat??!! No, no, excuse moi, I prefer enjoying my coffee above Europe!!!
So today since I had off from work, I decided to go to the famous region Jungfraujoch (which is 1h and a half away from where I live, by train). Took my camera and there I was, waiting for the train up to Jungfraujoch.
Now let`s admit it. I am kinda lucky since I get to see Europe from 3454 m above sea level on my day off.
The journey by train was really pleasant (as every journey with a Swiss train, obviously). But adding the wonderful white sites, full of people skiing and losing track of them between the rocky hills, sun shining so bright and damn..the SWISS ALPS which are quite astonishing!!

So you have  probably asked yourself  many times why are these Swiss people so famous for their rail tracks and trains and so on?! Because they managed to make a tunnel IN THE MOUNTAINS (ALPS) of 7 km in 14 years. So at a first glance it may sound a bit too much for 7 km, but think about the year in which they started to build it: somewhere in 1901, think about the weather conditions by that time – global warming was not so obvious so winter was pretty much WINTER at 3454 metres, think about the way they were bringing all the utencils and equipments up there. There are a lot of factors to take into consideration. This is probably a minor example of why Switzerland is so good at its trains and rail tracks. And that`s probably why a ticket is so expensive!!

I knew before leaving home that I will definitely have to visit 2 major attractions: the famous “Sphinx”, which is actually a lift that brings you even more up and from which you can admire the extraordinary panorama. And the “Ice Palace”, which only from hearing its status of “PALACE”  you sure expect something really…WOW! So the first thing I did when I arrived was………..smoking my cigarette of course!!! haha.

The panorama from the Sphinx is breath-taking. Literally. There were -8 degrees Celsius, but the sun was so bright and at that altitude you could have felt the warmth of the sun. There was this Ice river (thats how they call it, for me it seems more like a sea) between the mountains and a lot of glaciars. You couldnt possibly stop taking pics!!

The next on the list: Ice Palace. I was more excited about this one, but sorry Swiss people who came with this idea, the “Palace” kinda disappointed me…So I went through this ice tunnel, at its end there were some ice ways to just walk over there and admire probably the icy walls?!! and some sculptured ice statues that were I am guessing 6 in total. There was even a toy in an ice cube, some nice eagles and…thats it!! So this was basically the Ice Palace. PALACE?

Now, Switzerland, I know you didn`t want to hear this, but I really HAVE TO COMPARE YOUR ICE PALACE WITH ICE HOTEL FROM ROMANIA! I mean, you know you can do better than this. You know it, but still, your palace can`t even be compared with a single room with a “Bear View” in Ice Hotel Romania. Ì am going to post the pictures, you can make the difference I guess. Switzerland, stick to your chocolates, cheese and trains. Leave the ice “palace” for Romania.😉

Enjoy!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ce se mai aude, Personal

Leave a Reply

